NYX Long Lasting Slim Lip Liner Review

I thought I’d do something a little different today and review some make up that I ordered from Amazon. Hopefully this will be helpful to some of you if, like me,  you’re new to the NYX brand.

I’m a huge fan of matte lip colours so I usually find myself using lip liners as lipstick usually has a glossy or satin finish to avoid them being too drying. As most of you know by now I also love a good bargain, so I thought I’d scroll through Amazon to find some new colours to top up my collection.

I stumbled across a set of 6 Long Lasting Slim Lip Liners by NYX – a company I’d heard of before which, as far as I know, is quite popular in the US but I don’t see it often in stores in the UK. The colours looked great for Spring/Summer and at £20.50 (with free p&p yay!) the deal was too good to pass up. I was very happy with the fact they turned up within 3 days of ordering, on a Saturday no less!

The 6 colours in the pack are:

841 Coral
839 Dolly Pink
824 Orange
846 Tangerine
835 Pinky
840 Rose

Overall I’m quite pleased with the quality, they’re very pigmented and I don’t find them to be too drying – a little is to be expected from matte products. I also think the packaging is really sleek and sophisticated. The lighter colours like Coral, Rose and Tangerine did need a base coat of concealer/foundation to avoid a chalky look, but this extra step really helped the colour appear truer. I did also find the liners struggled to adhere with even the slightest bit of moisture on my lips but a light dusting of finishing powder before application sorted that out – I used Rimmel Stay Matte Long Lasting Press Powder.

Here are the liners on my lips so you can get an idea of the colours – apologies in advance for the blank stares:

Image Image

Image Image

Image Image

Image IMG_0403

Image Image

Image Image

 I definitely prefer the warmer colours on my skin but the lighter ones like Tangerine will come in handy for the spring and I think I’ll use Rose as a base coat for lipsticks. I personally wouldn’t wear the Dolly Pink during the day, there’s something quite Nicki Minaj about it which the picture isn’t doing  justice, but I’d happily wear it on a night out.

Overall I’m very satisfied with this purchase and will look into buying more NYX products:

Quality: 4/5

Value for money: 5/5

Packaging: 5/5

Texture: 3.5/5

If you’d like to buy these you can get them here and if you’re interested in other NYX products you can check them out here or follow them on Twitter @NyxCosmetics

Leave a Reply

